< Previous
Next >

Sherlock Holmes

Sherlock Holmes by Sidney Paget

Sherlock Holmes is one of the most famous fictional detectives from the 19th century and beyond. The following novels and short stories of Holmes were written by Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle KStJ, DL (22 May 1859 – 7 July 1930):

Story / Chapter Index
Publication date order

(Index also available in
alphabetical order)

A Study in ScarletA Study in Scarlet is a novel published in Beeton's Christmas Annual, 1887
Part 1IMr Sherlock Holmes
IIThe Science of Deduction
IIIThe Lauriston Gardens MysteryPart 1: Reminiscences of John H Watson MD, late of the Army Medical Department
IVWhat John Rance had to Tell
VOur Advertisement Brings a Visitor
VITobias Gregson Shows what he Can Do
VIILight in the Darkness
Part 2VIIIOn the Great Alkali PlainPart 2: Country of the Saints
IXThe Flower of Utah
XJohn Ferrier Talks with the Prophet
XIA Flight for Life
XIIThe Avenging Angels
XIIIA Continuation of the Reminiscences of John Watson M.D.
XIVThe Conclusion
The Sign of FourThe Sign of Four is a novel published in Lippincott's Monthly Magazine, 1890
 IThe Science of Deduction
IIThe Statement of the Case
IIIIn Quest of a Solution
IVThe Story of a Bald-headed Man
VThe Tragedy of Pondicherry Lodge
VISherlock Holmes Gives a Demonstration
VIIThe Episode of the Barrel
VIIIThe Baker Street Irregulars
IXA Break in the Chain
XThe End of the Islander
XIThe Great Agra Treasure
XIIThe Strange Story of Johnathan Small
The Adventures of Sherlock HolmesA collection of short stories published in The Strand, 1891–1892
 A Scandal in Bohemia
IChapter I
IIChapter II
IIIChapter III
The Red-Headed League
A Case of Identity
The Boscombe Valley Mystery
The Five Orange Pips
The Man with the Twisted Lip
The Blue Carbuncle
The Speckled Band
The Engineer's Thumb
The Noble Bachelor
The Beryl Coronet
The Copper Beeches
The Memoirs of Sherlock HolmesA collection of short stories, as further episodes of the Adventures of Sherlock Holmes, published in The Strand, 1892–1893
 Silver Blaze
The Yellow Face
The Stockbroker's Clerk
The 'Gloria Scott'
The Musgrave Ritual
The Reigate Squires
The Crooked Man
The Resident Patient
The Greek Interpreter
The Naval Treaty
The Final Problem
The Hound of the BaskervillesA novel serialised in The Strand, 1901–1902
 IMr. Sherlock Holmes
IIThe Curse of the Baskervilles
IIIThe Problem
IVSir Henry Baskerville
VThree Broken Threads
VIBaskerville Hall
VIIThe Stapletons of Merripit House
VIIIFirst Report of Doctor Watson
IXSecond Report of Doctor Watson
XExtract from Doctor Watson's Diary
XIThe Man on the Tor
XIIDeath on the Moor
XIIIFixing the Nets
XIVThe Hound of the Baskervilles
XVA Retrospection
The Return of Sherlock HolmesA collection of short stories published in The Strand, 1903–1904
 The Empty House
The Norwood Builder
The Dancing Men
The Solitary Cyclist
The Priory School
Black Peter
Charles Augustus Milverton
The Six Napoleons
The Three Students
The Golden Pince-Nez
The Missing Three-quarter
The Abbey Grange
The Second Stain
His Last BowA collection of short stories: Later Reminiscences of Sherlock Holmes, published in 1908–1917)
Wisteria Lodge
IThe Singular Experience of Mr. John Scott Eccles
IIThe Tiger of San Pedro
The Cardboard Box
The Red Circle
IPart I
The Bruce-Partington Plans
The Dying Detective
The Disappearance of Lady Frances Carfax
The Devil's Foot
His Last Bow
The Valley of FearThe Valley of Fear: A novel serialised in The Strand, 1914–1915
Part 1IThe Warning
IIMr Sherlock Holmes Discourses
IIIThe Tragedy of BirlstonePart 1: The Tragedy of Birlstone
VThe People of the Drama
VIA Dawning Light
VIIThe Solution
Part 2VIIIThe ManPart 2: The Scowrers
IXThe Bodymaster
XLodge 341, Vermissa
XIThe Valley of Fear
XIIThe Darkest Hour
XIVThe Trapping of Birdy Edwards
The Case-Book of Sherlock HolmesA collection of short stories published in 1921–1927)
The Illustrious Client
The Blanched Soldier
The Mazarin Stone
The Three Gables
The Sussex Vampire
The Three Garridebs
The Problem of Thor Bridge
The Creeping Man
The Lion's Mane
The Veiled Lodger
Shoscombe Old Place
The Retired Colourman

search 🔍



privacy policy